My First Medium Paycheck

The amount surprised me

Seavah Bedrosian
5 min readMar 6, 2022
Photo by Seavah Bedrosian. It does not represent what Medium paid her.

The impetus for getting started

I published my first story on Medium on February 12, 2022. It wasn’t a profound piece. I had just realized that I was going to be booted out of the Medium Partner Program (which I had been in for over three years without actually writing anything). I needed to somehow find 100 followers in eleven days (which I figured was impossible; it was not) and to publish something at least every six months (easier than getting followers, I figured; it was not).

I wasn’t sure if I had to publish something immediately or just within six months, but there was no sense taking any chances. Plus I figured I was more likely to get some followers if I actually had something for those prospective followers to read (not necessarily; Medium’s writers are super encouraging and accommodating). So I wrote about my chronic procrastination as it relates to writing stuff for Medium.

Much to my surprise, that article gathered my 100 followers within about three days. One article, 100 followers, mission accomplished for the next six months.

Momentum gathered!

But nothing vanquishes procrastination like getting started. Once you’ve overcome inertia, it’s much easier to keep going. It’s like getting…

--

--

Seavah Bedrosian

Wife, mother, writer, aficionado of life. I write about physical and mental health, relationships, ADHD, neurodiversity, and random interests.