On Procrastination and Medium Jail

My desperate quest to reach 100 followers before I’m booted from the Partner Program

Seavah Bedrosian
4 min readFeb 12, 2022
Photo by Jimmy Chan from Pexels

I’m a terrible procrastinator. But is there such a thing as a “good procrastinator”? Sure, there is that rare instance when you just miss being in the wrong place at the wrong time because you left late. But with very few exceptions, procrastination makes your life worse.

Sometimes you barely notice the consequences. Like you put off sweeping the kitchen after dinner, so you pick up crumbs on your feet the next morning as you zombie-walk across the floor to reach the coffee maker.

But sometimes it’s a pretty big deal. Like you put off paying a traffic ticket, so you forget all about it, and then the next time you’re speeding (to get to an appointment you forgot about because you put off putting it on your calendar), you get pulled over and arrested when the cop realizes you have a bench warrant for not taking care of your last speeding ticket.

Neither of these things has actually happened to me because I wear house shoes so that I don’t feel the crumbs, and I have an overdeveloped fear of being arrested. What this shows is that 1) it’s easy to let procrastination prevail when the consequences are minor and/or you have a workaround to minimize the fallout, and 2) with…

--

--

Seavah Bedrosian

Wife, mother, writer, aficionado of life. I write about physical and mental health, relationships, ADHD, neurodiversity, and random interests.