Why Am I So Thirsty?

What you can do about dry mouth from ADHD medications and other causes

Seavah Bedrosian
7 min readFeb 18, 2022
A young woman with short brown hair and wearing a black tank top is drinking a glass of water.
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I have attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and have been taking a prescription for amphetamine salts (Adderall) for about a year. This has greatly improved my quality of life. But, as with any medication, Adderall and other stimulants prescribed for ADHD such as methylphenidate (Ritalin, Concerta), lisdexamfetamine (Vyvanse), and dexmethylphenidate (Focalin) can have side effects.

A common one is dry mouth (xerostomia). You can feel like you’re constantly thirsty, especially at night. Not everyone experiences this, and for many people, it eventually goes away. For me, it’s worst after I’ve taken a “drug holiday.” When I resume taking Adderall, the side effects that had abated come back. But even when I haven’t had a holiday, dry mouth is a problem for me sometimes.

Why can ADHD medications cause dry mouth?

There’s more than one factor at play here.

First off, Adderall acts as a decongestant. You may find that having a stuffy nose from colds or allergies is less of an issue while on Adderall. Decongestants work by constricting blood vessels in your nose (and elsewhere), which reduces swelling, allowing you to breathe better. This effect from Adderall…

--

--

Seavah Bedrosian

Wife, mother, writer, aficionado of life. I write about physical and mental health, relationships, ADHD, neurodiversity, and random interests.